One week until 2016 Excellence in Concrete Awards winners announced

There is just one week until the winners are announced at The Concrete Society 2016 Excellence in Concrete Awards, the longest-running awards event in the UK construction industry. Now in its 48th year, this prestigious awards initiative showcases the use of concrete as a structural material.

Kate Silverton, the well-known journalist and broadcaster, will be guest host for the ceremony, being held on Thursday 17 November 2016 at The Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London.

Detailed below are the 17 projects that have been shortlisted for the final stage of this highly regarded competition:

  • Academic Wing, Wolfson College, Oxford nominated by Wolfson College, Oxford
  • Albert Sloman Library & Silberrad Centre, University of Essex nominated by Patel Taylor
  • Blavatnik School of Government, Oxford nominated by Laing O’Rourke
  • Carno Embankment, Tredegar to Brynmawr, Ebbw Vale Ove nominated by Arup and Partners
  • Cheltenham Racecourse Redevelopment, Gloucestershire nominated by Evans Concrete Products
  • Clarges Estate, London nominated by Laing O’Rourke
  • Cockcroft Building, University of Brighton nominated by Fraser Brown MacKenna Architects
  • Heart of the Campus, Nottingham Trent University nominated by Evans Vettori Architects
  • Lee Tunnel Project, Beckton, London nominated by MVB Joint Venture
  • Motel One, Manchester nominated by Hodder + Partners
  • Outhouse, Forest of Dean nominated by Loyn & Co Architects
  • Pont Briwet Viaduct, Penrhyndeudraeth, Gwynedd nominated by Hewson Consulting Engineers
  • The Hiscox Building, York nominated by Hiscox UK
  • The Tate Modern Project, London nominated by Byrne Bros
  • The Word, South Shields nominated by Cidon Construction
  • Volkswagen Showroom and Service Centre, Brentford nominated by PCE
  • Ward Block, Bristol Royal Infirmary nominated by AECOM

Kathy Calverley, managing director of The Concrete Society, said:

“The judges have been overwhelmed by the exceptionally high number of projects for this year’s Concrete Society Awards. They have been equally amazed at the high quality of each project and have had a tremendously difficult task choosing the final shortlist.

“With such an impressive shortlist, the Awards ceremony and dinner will prove to be an exciting event. Once more, this popular occasion will be a platform to showcase to the industry that concrete is a material worthy of celebration.”

The Awards are supported by premier sponsor PUDLO Waterproof Systems, a division of David Ball Group.

Also being announced at the event will be the winner of the 2016 Structural Concrete Alliance Award for Repair and Refurbishment. The shortlisted projects include:

  • Sika Ltd for its restoration of Poplar Baths in London
  • CCL (GB) Ltd for its upgrading and strengthening work at National Grid PLC’s Isle of Grain site near Rochester, Kent
  • Volkerlaser for the refurbishment and strengthening of the Woodhouse Tunnel in Leeds.

Commenting on the award, the judges stated:

“The annual Structural Concrete Award aims to identify innovative structural concrete repair and refurbishment solutions that overcome demanding engineering challenges, while advancing technology and understanding.”